If you need help, contact (02) 8090 0256

Sydney Strapper of the Year - Nominations

Nominations are now being called for Sydney’s ‘Strapper of the Year’ award for the 2021-2022 season.

Now in its thirteenth year, this award endeavours to recognise the behind-the-scenes efforts by those stablehands that tend to go beyond the call of duty. The award is sponsored by Racing NSW and co-ordinated by Australian Racing Christian Chaplaincy. The award is peer-nominated with stablehands at metropolitan race meetings being invited to nominate who they think is deserving of the award. A selection panel of racing officials will subsequently choose the winner from a short-list of finalists. The award will be presented at the NSW Racehorse Owners Association’s prestigious ‘Racing's Night of Champions’ on 25th August 2022.

Nominations can be SUBMITTED ONLINE (Click here)  or by downloading the following form: 
Strapper Of The Year Nomination Form (PDF)

Nominees can be from any stable in NSW/ACT, but they must have strapped horses at Metropolitan meetings during the 2021-22 season.

For any enquiries contact Colin Watts at contact@arcc.org.au 

Nominations close Wednesday 22nd June 2022


2021Clare HEUSTONChris Waller
2020Graeme WILSONKris Lees
2019Alexandra MAHERJohn O'Shea
2018Lindy WHAREKURAPeter & Paul Snowden
2017Riharna THOMSONKeith Dryden & Scott Collings
2016Ali IFTIKHARChris Waller
2015Vicki SZECSODIBjorn Baker
2014George TUCKERChris Waller
2013Glenn BARNESChris Waller
2012Skye SMALLEYGuy Walter
2011Michael DOOLANPeter Snowden
2010Melissa WILLIAMSJohn O'Shea

(Photo courtesy of Bradley Photos)