Riharna Thomson Memorial Race 2023

The Canberra Racing Club once again conducted the Riharna Thomson Memorial on its iconic Black Opal Raceday.

This year’s winner was Jess Taylor riding Miss Ghent for local trainer Norm Gardner. Interestingly, Jess is the first female jockey to win the Riharna Thomson Memorial Bracelet trophy, though she said “I could never take the bracelet out, it is so beautifully mounted”

This was now the sixth running of the annual memorial race, which is held in honour of local track rider, Riharna Thomson, who died following a tragic trackwork accident in 2017.

The family is very grateful to the Club for its hosting of the Memorial race.

(Pictured: Jess Taylor is presented with the Riharna Thomson Memorial Bracelet by Riharna’s brothers Braden and Colin)

Photos courtesy of Bradley Photographers